The Down Low

I was born in rural western Massachusetts and now live in rural Vermont.  Not much of a scenery change, but I can't complain.  I experienced an uneventful childhood, went to a private high school (yes, I was a total geek, not popular), and attended a local community college for engineering (continue geekiness).  I started my first job the Monday after I graduated for the Massachusetts Department of Transportation as a construction inspector.  I made my way up the ranks to eventually running my own jobsites and loved it.  However, it did not love me.  It was very stressful and I wound up drinking and partying a lot.  Life was quite unfulfilling and I was a work absorbed person.  I really had little time for myself.

Fast forward to now.  I met my loving (now fiance), Red, in a dive bar, fell head over heels, and in a very short time found myself with a little mini me (which we refer to as the Yeti, long story).  In that time, I found another job in the same line of work, but when they found out I was expecting put me on unpaid medical leave.  I was devastated.  I was still so connected to that lifestyle.  I had no idea what I would do with myself.  There were many weeks spent on the couch crying.  My very loving and supportive Red encouraged me to find myself.  That I did.  I embraced being at home and cooked up a storm.

Since hatching the Yeti, we have been on quite the roller coaster.  I stayed at home for almost six months and have since gotten a job that I absolutely love.  I have become a militant supporter of eating WHOLE foods and following the Whole9 concept.  I try to think of new ways every day to reduce our household waste and spending.  Lastly, I am trying to live locally!

Truths about me:

1.  I would do bad things to Raylan from Justified.
2.  I am a full on outdoorswoman - hunting & fishing.
3.  Yes, I own guns.  I fully believe that everyone should know how to properly respect and use them.
4.  I have watched Grease more than I can count and know the words to all the songs.  I would like a hickey from Kenickie.
5.  I loved to do homework as a kid.
6.  Halloween is my favorite holiday to celebrate, however Easter has the best candy (duh, Mini Eggs and Yellow Peeps, they taste better than Pink Bunnies).
7.  I could drink San Giovese wine like water.
8.  I love to visit NYC.  VISIT.
9.  I think farts are funny.  Always will.
10.  I love numbered lists.
11.  If I didn't wax every week, I would be the Bearded Goat Woman from Hell.  Red would chain me up in the garage and charge admission to see me.
12.  I love being a mom.  There are, however, days I want to scream "SHUT THE HELL UP AND GO BACK WHERE YOU CAME FROM"
13.  Yes, I owned and rode a motorcycle.  As soon as the yeti is a little older, I will have another.
14.  I do something scary and adventurous every year, just to prove I can.
15.  I am an anti-hoarder.  Clutter makes me crazy.
16.  When I was 5 years old, I stole a fish tank cave from a pet store.  I was not prosecuted.
17.  I watch Bizarre Foods with Andrew Zimmern and would honestly eat most of what he has on that show.
18.  Crab rangoons = heaven.
19.  I could live in my Chippewa logger boots.  Hillbilly?  Yes.
20.  When I grow up, I want to be a pirate.

No comments:

Post a Comment